How many citizenships can you have?

Exactly how many citizenships an individual can hold depends on the country and which nationality the person currently holds.

Dual citizenship is when an individual holds the citizenship of two countries and is recognised as a citizen under the laws of both. While there are many countries that allow their citizens to hold dual citizenship, there are also many that do not. For example, countries like India and China forbid holding dual citizenship. So, how many citizenships can you have? The answer depends. 

Multiple citizenships

Depending on the country, individuals can sometimes hold more than two citizenships making them eligible to enjoy the rights of those nations which usually include the right to live and work there. However, it is important to check the laws before receiving an additional citizenship as it could lead to your former citizenship being revoked.  

Types of citizenship

From naturalisation to economic citizenship, there are many ways to gain citizenship. We’ve explored the different types of citizenship as well as the particular requirements of each in this resource: The Different Types of Citizenship. 

Citizenship by investment

One of the ways to obtain a second nationality is to apply for citizenship through a citizenship by investment programme. Citizenship by investment (CBI) programmes offer the opportunity for reputable individuals to legally obtain a new citizenship in return for an investment in the economy of the host country. The main goal of these programmes is to find a win-win solution for both investors and the countries offering the CBI programme.

The seven steps in our resource: How to apply for citizenship by investment explains exactly what is required when applying for citizenship by investment.

Benefits of dual citizenship

Being a dual citizen offers more benefits than you might think. From family reunification to enhanced security and increased economic opportunities, there are so many reasons to get a second nationality.

The main three benefits of dual citizenship include lifestyle and accessibility, financial planning and physical safety and security.

Countries that allow dual citizenship

There are many countries all over the world that allow dual citizenship. These include:

Albania, Algeria, Angola*, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia ,Austria* ,Australia ,Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Botswana*, British Virgin Islands, Brazil, Brunei*, Bulgaria*, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon*, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic*, Chile, Colombia, Comoro Islands, Congo (Republic), Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Croatia*, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt*, El Salvador*, Equatorial Guinea*, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany*, Georgia*, Greece, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho*, Liberia*, Lithuania*, Luxembourg*, Macao, Madagascar*, Malawi*, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia*, Moldova*, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia*, Nauru*, Netherlands*, New Zealand, Nicaragua*, Niger*, Nigeria*, North Macedonia*, Norway*, Pakistan*, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland*, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Samoa (American), Samoa (WS),
Scotland, Serbia, Seychelles*, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands*, Somalia, South Sudan, Slovakia*, Slovenia*, South Africa, South Korea*, Spain*, Sri Lanka*, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan (Chinese Taipei), Tajikistan, Thailand, The Gambia, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago*, Tunisia, Türkiye, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Yemen*, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

*Under certain conditions.

Countries that don’t allow dual citizenship

Andorra, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belarus, Botswana, Bhutan, China, Cuba, Congo, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, North Korea, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Solomon Islands, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

Again, if you are considering applying for second citizenship – always check the laws of your country.

Also Read: Best Citizenship by Investment Countries of 2023