International Relations Digest: December 2022

A Comprehensive Analysis of Last Month’s Changes in International Relations and Travel Arrangements Across the Globe

  • Europe
    Named relevant jurisdictions: Netherlands, Croatia, Kosovo, Serbia, Belarus, Albania, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland
  • Asia
    Named relevant jurisdictions: Turkey, India, China
  • Middle East
    Named relevant jurisdictions: Qatar, Kuwait, Oman
  • Americas
    Named relevant jurisdictions: United States of America, Ecuador
  • Africa
    Named relevant jurisdictions: Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Eritrea


• On 1 December 2022, the Netherlands begin requiring nationals of Turkey to obtain a Transit Schengen visa if they transit through Amsterdam Schiphol Airport to another country outside the Schengen Area.

• On 8 December 2022, the EU decides to allow Croatia to join the EU’s Schengen visa-free travel zone, effective 1 January 2023.

• On 14 December 2022, the EU agrees to grant 90-day visa-free access to visitors from Kosovo, and this decision will come into effect before 1 January 2024.

• On 15 December 2022, Serbia announces that citizens of India and Guinea-Bissau will no longer be allowed visa-free access, effective 1 January 2023.

• On 21 December 2022, Belarus agrees to extend the visa-free travel policy for nationals of Lithuania, Latvia and Poland into 2023.

• On 27 December 2022, Albania and China entered into a visa-free agreement effective immediately.


• On 27 December 2022, China decides to resume passport and visa-issuance following the country’s lift of COVID-19 restrictions, effective from 8 January 2023.

Middle East

• On 1 December 2022, the EU proposes to allow visa-free access to the Schengen Area for nationals of Qatar, Kuwait, Oman and Ecuador. On 12 and 15 December 2022, the EU Parliament decides to postpone voting on these proposals.


• On 24 December 2022, the United States of America announces that it will extend the interview waiver for certain non-immigrant visa applicants, including international students and some temporary workers, through 31 December 2023.


• On 10 December 2022, Kenya and Eritrea mutually agree to abolish the visa requirements for their respective citizens.