St Kitts and Nevis Continues to Increase Visa-Free Travel Opportunities Across the Globe

Not just sandy beaches and luxury hotels, St Kitts and Nevis has once again demonstrated their willingness to expand international relationships, signing several visa-free agreements in less than a week.

Not only has the Federated island state secured visa-free travel to the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, but also forged new diplomatic relations with the Kingdom of eSwatini (formerly Swaziland), Tajikistan and the Kyrgyz Republic.

New diplomatic relations

During a brief ceremony in New York, Ambassadors Durga Prasad Bhattari of Nepal, and Sam Terence Condor of St Kitts and Nevis, signed an agreement signalling the beginning of a fruitful and prosperous relationship between the two nations.

The diplomatic mission in Kathmandu stated that both ambassadors were pleased to continue cooperation on both a multilateral and bilateral level. With both countries sharing common interests in addressing climate change, natural disasters, and the tourism industry, opportunities for co-operation in this vein will also be discussed.

The diplomatic mission said they were “resolved to continue working together at the United Nations in pursuit of peace, development and common prosperity ahead.” The ambassadors jointly informed Antonio Guterres, Secretary-General of the United Nations, of the new union between the two nations.

Nepal is situated in South-East Asia and is home to just over 28 million people. Similarly to St Kitts and Nevis, Nepal is a tourist destination, with the Lonely Planet ranking it the number one best value destination in 2017. The country is not only home to the famed Mount Everest, it also hosts the highest concentration of world heritage sites in the world.

A new dawn of Afro-Caribbean relations

In addition, St Kitts and Nevis High Commissioner, His Excellency Kevin M Isaac, signed a joint communique to establish diplomatic relations with eSwatini’s High Commissioner, Christian Nkambule. The Kingdom of eSwatini, formerly Swaziland, is a sovereign state in Southern Africa. The signing comes not long after St Kitts and Nevis’ visa-free waiver with Rwanda, reiterating a new dawn of Afro-Caribbean relations.

Tajikistan and Kyrgyz Republic (commonly Kyrgyzstan) have also signed joint communiques with St Kitts and Nevis. The two nations border one another in Central Asia, and are both member states of the Commonwealth of Independent States (or CIS) – a confederation established following the dissolution of the Soviet Union.

St Kitts and Nevis continues to solidify its global footprint, ultimately enabling greater travel opportunities for its citizens. Second citizenship is achievable via their longstanding Citizenship by Investment Programme. To learn more about St Kitts and Nevis’ ‘Platinum Standard’ Programme, please get in touch with one of our citizenship specialists.