常见问题

常见问题

下文针对有关投资移民项目的常见问题作出回答。点击问题标签即可显示答案。

标有“*”的字段为必需字段

什么是公民身份?

“公民身份”一词会让很多人联想到由出生、种族、历史、文化和教育等因素所共同塑造的强烈的民族认同感,因此他们很少会想到同时也难以理解第二公民身份的概念。但是,从法律意义上来说,“公民身份”表示个人与国家之间的关系。个人通常受国家保护,并履行其对国家的特定义务作为回报。因此,满足另一国家的政府所提出标准的个人可以获得第二公民身份。

什么是双重公民身份者?

双重公民身份者指拥有两个独立主权国家所授予的两个不同公民身份的个人。个人是否被视为一国的公民取决于各个国家以及其法律和政策,有些人即使未主动申请公民身份,便已被自动视为一国公民。想要成为双重公民身份者的个人必须同时拥有双重公民身份。

如何获得双重公民身份?

大多数人在其出生时即拥有了至少一个公民身份,不过,个人可通过多种方式获得第二公民身份,以此获得多个公民身份。

根据出生地取得公民身份:出生地原则(jus soli

个人可根据“出生地原则”被授予公民身份。这是一项成为出生地公民的权利,不论血统为何。加拿大、美国以及许多拉丁美洲和加勒比海国家根据出生地原则授予公民身份。这些国家通常将向在其境内出生的个人授予公民身份,即使该个人的父母仅是在境内临时逗留或非法逗留。这一原则最显著的例外是外交官的子女或作为公务员在该国境内出差的外国官员的子女。

其他国家采用经修改的出生地原则,也称为限定出生地原则。这些国家要求婴儿在其专属管辖区内出生,同时还需满足至少一个条件。例如,在新西兰出生的婴儿仅在至少父母一方为新西兰公民或永久居民(或婴儿由于其他原因而无公民身份)的情况下方可被授予新西兰公民身份。西班牙的政策较为宽松,若婴儿的父母在西班牙拥有合法居住权,则婴儿在出生时即成为西班牙公民。在埃及出生的婴儿仅在其父亲为埃及国民的情况下方可被授予埃及公民身份。

根据血统取得公民身份:血统原则(Jus Sanguinis

最为常见的获取公民身份的方式是根据“血统原则”。个人有权利根据血统取得公民身份,无论是根据其父母还是根据由于迁居导致子女与该国之间持续性关系中断的远亲。例如,克罗地亚允许祖辈为克罗地亚人的个人申请该国公民身份,即使申请人的父母或祖父母从未提出过公民身份申请。克罗地亚拥有比其他国家更为宽松的政策,其还允许身为克罗地亚族的个人以及可表明与克罗地亚文化存在关联的个人申请该国公民身份。爱尔兰采用更为严格的血统原则,至少祖父母一方为爱尔兰人的个人才可在境外出生登记处(Foreign Births Register)登记其公民身份从而成为爱尔兰公民。

根据居住地取得公民身份

绝大多数国家允许个人在其境内合法居留数年后获取本国公民身份。大多数根据居住地提供公民身份的国家设有最低居住要求,同时还需进行语言和文化测试,用以表明与本国之间的联系。例如,美国允许永久居民,也称绿卡持有者,在连续居住五年后成为美国公民。若通过结婚获得绿卡,则最低居住要求降至三年。申请人在获得公民身份之前还必须通过基本的语言测试和公民测试,签署忠诚宣言。英国采用类似的公民资格结构,但是对于原籍国为圣基茨和尼维斯等以英语为官方语言的国家的申请人无语言要求。

通过结婚取得公民身份:婚姻法(Jus Matrimonii

某些国家向其当前公民的配偶授予公民身份,其配偶甚至无需满足居住要求。例如,牙买加允许公民的配偶在证明其婚姻经官方认可后可申请牙买加公民身份。

通过投资取得公民身份

除凭借出生地取得公民身份之外,最快获取公民身份的方法是成为“经济公民(economic citizenship)”,也称为“投资移民(CBI)”。投资移民指通过对某一国进行投资,从而换取公民身份的过程。圣基茨和尼维斯、圣卢西亚、格林纳达和多米尼亚四个加勒比海国家允许投资者无需满足任何居住、语言、商业、技术或面试要求即可成为其公民。这四个国家均为投资者提供至少两个投资移民选项:向政府基金进行一次性捐款,或购买房地产并持有固定年限(根据国家不同,年限为三到五年不等)。

一个人可以拥有几个公民身份?

允许公民持有双重公民身份的国家通常还允许其公民持有任意数量的公民身份。因此,大部分国家中的双重公民身份者可持有三个、四个、十个或更多公民身份。

不过,某些国家对于个人可持有的额外公民身份的数量和类型作出了更为严格的规定。例如,德国允许其国民成为任何欧盟成员国的公民,但不允许国民在未经事先批准的情况下获得任何其他公民身份。因此,德国国民可在保留其德国公民身份的同时,成为最多27个其他国家的公民(其余27个欧盟成员国)。

一些国家允许公民持有任意数量的公民身份,只要公民通过特定方式获取公民身份。例如,荷兰允许其公民根据出生地或通过婚姻获取多国公民身份。因此,出生于美国(根据出生地原则授予公民身份)的个人并且父亲为意大利人和母亲为突尼斯人(根据血统原则授予公民身份)的个人可以在成为荷兰国民的同时,保留以上三个公民身份。

其他国家仅在无法放弃额外公民身份的情况下允许持有多国公民身份。例如,挪威人不得持有另一公民身份,除非另一公民身份无法放弃——因重罪而被起诉的希腊国民也同样如此。

最后,一些国家仅允许其公民在达到一定年龄前方可持有双重公民身份。例如,18岁以下的日本公民可持有双重公民身份。但是,在年满18周岁后,日本公民必须在保留日本公民身份和其他国家的公民身份之间做出选择。委内瑞拉同样采用类似规定,其公民必须在25周岁时做出决定。

哪些国家不允许拥有双重公民身份?

随着国际交流、旅行和互动频繁时代的到来,越来越多的国家允许其公民在保留原有公民身份的同时,成为另一个国家的国民。

但是,少数国家仍然限制其公民获取第二公民身份的权利。如俄罗斯等国就不认可第二公民身份,这意味着其国民可以获得双重公民身份,但在处理与其出生国相关的事项时,必须作为出生国的公民并使用原籍国的护照。如印度尼西亚等其他国家在发现个人持有另一个公民身份后,会剥夺个人的公民身份。一些国家要求个人在入籍时放弃其原有公民身份。

以下是限制公民持有双重公民身份权利的国家列表。

免责声明:下表根据2016年初的最新信息编制。但是建议您与相关政府部门进行核实,以便准确了解各国有关双重公民身份的法律。

  1. 阿尔及利亚
  2. 安道尔
  3. 奥地利,少数由于血统或出生地自动获得第二公民身份或无法放弃第二公民身份的个人除外
  4. 阿塞拜疆
  5. 巴林,某些海湾国家的第二公民身份除外
  6. 白俄罗斯
  7. 不丹
  8. 玻利维亚
  9. 博茨瓦纳
  10. 文莱
  11. 布隆迪
  12. 喀麦隆
  13. 智利
  14. 中国
  15. 刚果
  16. 古巴
  17. 捷克
  18. 吉布提
  19. 厄瓜多尔
  20. 埃及,仅在向埃及当局妥善报备后,方可允许归化入籍
  21. 萨尔瓦多,根据出生地取得萨尔瓦多公民身份的除外
  22. 赤道几内亚
  23. 爱沙尼亚,仅限于加入爱沙尼亚公民身份之后寻求另一公民身份的爱沙尼亚人
  24. 斐济
  25. 加蓬
  26. 德国,仅允许在经德国政府许可后在非欧盟国家(瑞士除外)归化入籍。允许根据出生地或父母血统取得公民身份
  27. 几内亚
  28. 洪都拉斯
  29. 印度
  30. 印度尼西亚
  31. 伊朗
  32. 伊拉克
  33. 日本,拥有双重公民身份且尚未成年的儿童除外
  34. 哈萨克斯坦
  35. 肯尼亚
  36. 基里巴斯
  37. 科威特
  38. 吉尔吉斯斯坦
  39. 老挝
  40. 拉脱维亚
  41. 利比亚
  42. 立陶宛,祖辈由于受迫害而离开立陶宛的公民除外
  43. 马拉维
  44. 马来西亚
  45. 毛里求斯
  46. 马里
  47. 墨西哥
  48. 摩纳哥
  49. 蒙古
  50. 黑山
  51. 缅甸
  52. 尼泊尔
  53. 荷兰,根据出生地或通过结婚取得公民身份的除外
  54. 尼加拉瓜
  55. 尼日尔
  56. 朝鲜
  57. 挪威,无法放弃另一公民身份的除外
  58. 阿曼
  59. 巴基斯坦,列表上所列国家的公民除外
  60. 帕劳
  61. 巴布亚新几内亚
  62. 秘鲁
  63. 普林西比岛
  64. 波兰
  65. 卡塔尔
  66. 俄罗斯,要求双重公民身份者说明其另一公民身份,在个人出入境时仅认可俄罗斯公民身份
  67. 卢旺达
  68. 沙特阿拉伯
  69. 塞拉利昂
  70. 新加坡
  71. 斯洛伐克,根据出生地或通过结婚取得的斯洛伐克公民身份除外
  72. 所罗门群岛
  73. 韩国
  74. 斯里兰卡,仅在必须持有双重公民身份时除外
  75. 苏丹
  76. 斯威士兰
  77. 瑞典
  78. 西班牙,列表上所列国家的公民除外
  79. 坦桑尼亚,通过结婚获得第二公民身份的女性除外
  80. 泰国
  81. 汤加
  82. 土耳其,必须将归化入籍上报至政府
  83. 乌干达
  84. 乌克兰
  85. 阿拉伯联合酋长国,根据出生地取得另一公民身份的以及由于父亲拥有阿联酋公民身份而获得阿联酋公民身份的除外
  86. 乌兹别克斯坦
  87. 委内瑞拉,拥有双重公民身份且尚不满25周岁的除外
  88. 越南
  89. 也门
  90. 津巴布韦

FAQ's

Below you’ll find answers to the questions we get asked the most about Citizenship by Investment. Answers will reveal when you click on the questions tab.

Fields marked with an * are required

What Is Citizenship?

For many people the word ‘citizenship’ conjures images of a strong national identity determined by birth, ethnicity, history, culture and upbringing – so the idea of a second citizenship may be foreign and difficult to grasp. However, in a legal sense, ‘citizenship’ indicates the relationship between an individual and a nation state. Normally, the individual is conferred protection by the state, in return for the fulfilment of certain obligations owed by the individual to the state. It is therefore possible to gain a second citizenship from another country if the second citizen meets the criteria set by that country’s government.

What Is a Dual Citizen?

A dual citizen is an individual who holds two separate nationalities that were conferred by two independent sovereign states. It is up to each state, its laws, and policies whether an individual is considered a citizen or not – and some individuals may be automatically deemed citizens even though they did not actively seek out citizenship. In order to be a dual citizen, an individual must hold two citizenships concurrently.

How Do You Get Dual Citizenship?

Most individuals are awarded at least one citizenship at the time of their birth, but there are several ways in which a person can obtain a second citizenship, and thus have more than one nationality.

Citizenship by Birth: Jus Soli

An individual can be granted citizenship by ‘jus soli’ – or the ‘right of soil.’ This is the right to be a citizen of the place in which you were born, irrespective of your parentage. Canada, the United States, and many Latin American and Caribbean countries award citizenship by jus soli. These countries will generally award citizenship to those born within their territories even if the parents of the individual were only temporarily within their borders, or if they were there illegally. The most prominent exception to this rule applies to children of diplomats or foreign officials travelling within the country’s borders in their capacity as government employees.

Other nations apply modified versions of the jus soli principle – sometimes known as restricted jus soli. These countries require birth within their exclusive jurisdiction plus the fulfilment of at least one more condition. Children born in New Zealand, for example, will only be awarded citizenship if at least one of their parents is a citizen or permanent resident (or if the child would otherwise become stateless). Spain is less strict, allowing children whose parents are legally residing or domiciled in Spain at the time of their birth to become citizens. Children who are born in Egypt are only granted Egyptian citizenship if their father is also an Egyptian national.

Citizenship by Descent: Jus Sanguinis

The most common means of obtaining citizenship is through ‘jus sanguinis’ – or the ‘right of blood.’ This is the right of an individual to obtain citizenship by descent, whether from their parents or, at times, more distant relatives whose children’s continued relationship with a country was interrupted by relocation. Croatia, for example, allows those whose ancestors were Croatian to apply for citizenship even if their parents or grandparents never laid claim to the right of citizenship. More welcoming than other nations, Croatia also allows those who are ethnic Croatian and who can show a link to Croatian culture to apply for citizenship. Ireland applies a more limited form of jus sanguinis, allowing persons with at least one Irish grandparent to become Irish citizens by registering their citizenship in the Foreign Births Register.

Citizenship by Residence

A vast majority of countries allow individuals to obtain citizenship of their nation after several years of legal residence therein. Most countries offering citizenship by residence will apply minimum residence requirements, as well as language and culture tests to show a connection to the nation. For example, the United States allows a permanent resident, also known as a Green Card holder, to become a citizen after five continuous years of residence. The minimum residence requirement is reduced to three years if the Green Card was obtained through marriage. Applicants must also pass a basic language and civics test, and sign a loyalty oath, before obtaining citizenship. The United Kingdom offers a similar citizenship structure, although the language requirement is waived for those whose country of origin has English as its official language, such as St Kitts and Nevis.

Citizenship by Marriage: Jus Matrimonii

Some nations will award citizenship to spouses of current citizens even without the spouse fulfilling residence requirements. Jamaica, for example, will allow spouses to apply upon proof that an officially recognised marriage took place.

Citizenship by Investment

The fastest way of obtaining citizenship other than by birth is by ‘economic citizenship,’ also known as ‘citizenship by investment (CBI).’ CBI is the process of making an investment in a country in return for citizenship. Four Caribbean nations, namely St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Grenada, and Dominica allow investors to become nationals without fulfilling any residence, language, business, skill, or interview requirement. Each of these nations offers investors at least two citizenship options: a one-time donation to a government fund, or the purchase of real estate, to be held for a fixed number of years (ranging between three and five depending on the jurisdiction).

How Many Citizenships Can a Person Have?

Countries that allow their citizens to hold dual nationality will generally also allow their citizens to hold any number of nationalities. In most countries, a person who has two citizenships can thus have three, four, ten, or more.

Certain nations however are stricter with the number and type of additional citizenships an individual can have. For example, Germany allows its nationals to become naturalised citizens of any European Union member state, but it will not allow them to obtain any other citizenship without prior approval. A German national could thus become a citizen of up to 27 other countries (the 27 remaining EU member states) without losing German citizenship.

Some countries will allow you to have any number of nationalities, so long as these were acquired by specific means. For example, the Netherlands will allow its citizens to hold multiple nationalities if these were acquired by birth or by marriage. Therefore, an individual who was born in the United States (where jus soli prevails) and who is the child of an Italian father and of a Tunisian mother (where citizenship is awarded on the principle of jus sanguinis) would be able to retain all three of these citizenships while also being a national of the Netherlands.

Other countries will allow multiple nationalities only when the additional nationalities cannot be renounced. For example, a Norwegian national would not be allowed to hold another citizenship unless that other citizenship could not be relinquished – such as is the case for Greek nationals who have been prosecuted for a felony.

Finally, some countries will only allow their citizens to hold dual nationality until they become of age. In Japan, for example, citizens below the age of 18 may hold two nationalities. However, upon turning 18, they must choose whether to keep their Japanese citizenship or that of the other country. A similar rule is applied in Venezuela, where the decision must be made when the individual turns 25.

What Countries Do Not Allow Dual Citizenship?

As we enter an era of international communication, travel, and interaction, more and more nations are allowing their citizens to become nationals of a second country while retaining their original citizenship.

A small number of countries, however, still restrict the right of its citizens to obtain a second nationality. Some nations, such as Russia, simply do not recognise second citizenship, meaning that nationals can acquire dual citizenship but can only interact with their nation of birth as citizens of that nation and through their original passport. Other nations, such as Indonesia, will deprive an individual of citizenship if they discover that the individual holds another nationality. Some countries require individuals to renounce their original citizenship when that individual naturalises.

Below is a list of nations that restrict the right to hold an alternative citizenship.

Disclaimer: This list has been compiled with the most recent information available in early 2016. However, we advise checking with the relevant Government authorities for an accurate understanding of each country’s dual citizenship laws.

  1. Algeria
  2. Andorra
  3. Austria, with some minor exceptions for individuals who automatically receive a second citizenship by descent or location of birth or who cannot renounce their additional citizenship
  4. Azerbaijan
  5. Bahrain, with the exception of certain Gulf state second nationalities
  6. Belarus
  7. Bhutan
  8. Bolivia
  9. Botswana
  10. Brunei
  11. Burundi
  12. Cameroon
  13. Chile
  14. China
  15. Congo
  16. Cuba
  17. Czech Republic
  18. Djibouti
  19. Ecuador
  20. Egypt, which only allows naturalisation if the Egyptian authorities are properly informed.
  21. El Salvador, with the exception of those who obtain El Salvadorian nationality by birth
  22. Equatorial Guinea
  23. Estonia, but only for naturalised Estonians who later seek to take another citizenship
  24. Fiji
  25. Gabon
  26. Germany, which only allows naturalisation in non-EU countries (other than Switzerland) following permission from the German Government. Second citizenship by birth or parental descent is allowed.
  27. Guinea
  28. Honduras
  29. India
  30. Indonesia
  31. Iran
  32. Iraq
  33. Japan, with the exception of children who have dual citizenship and who have not reached adulthood
  34. Kazakhstan
  35. Kenya
  36. Kiribati
  37. Kuwait
  38. Kyrgyzstan
  39. Laos
  40. Latvia
  41. Libya
  42. Lithuania, with the exception of citizens whose ancestors had to leave the country due to past persecution
  43. Malawi
  44. Malaysia
  45. Mauritius
  46. Mali
  47. Mexico
  48. Monaco
  49. Mongolia
  50. Montenegro
  51. Myanmar (Burma)
  52. Nepal
  53. The Netherlands, with exceptions for those who hold a different citizenship by birth or marriage
  54. Nicaragua
  55. Niger
  56. North Korea
  57. Norway, except for those whose other citizenship cannot be renounced
  58. Oman
  59. Pakistan, except for citizens of an enumerated list of countries
  60. Palau
  61. Papua New Guinea
  62. Peru
  63. Principe Island
  64. Poland
  65. Qatar
  66. Russia, which requires dual nationals to declare their alternative citizenship, and which only recognises Russian citizenship when an individual enters or leaves the country
  67. Rwanda
  68. Saudi Arabia
  69. Sierra Leone
  70. Singapore
  71. Slovakia, unless Slovakian citizenship is obtained through birth or marriage
  72. Solomon Islands
  73. South Korea
  74. Sri Lanka, where dual citizenship must be requested
  75. Sudan
  76. Swaziland
  77. Sweden
  78. Spain, except for citizens of an enumerated list of countries
  79. Tanzania, with the exception of women who obtain a second citizenship by marriage
  80. Thailand
  81. Tonga
  82. Turkey, where naturalisation must be declared to the Government
  83. Uganda
  84. The Ukraine
  85. United Arab Emirates, except for those who obtained another citizenship at birth and who also obtained UAE citizenship through descent from a UAE father
  86. Uzbekistan
  87. Venezuela, with the exception of children who have dual citizenship and have yet to reach the age of 25
  88. Vietnam
  89. Yemen
  90. Zimbabwe